September 27, 2021

Bliss Stands Alone: Third PSC Member Resigns In A Week

By Newsroom

Roger Kawalsingh has resigned from the Police Service Commission, effective immediately.

President Paula-Mae Weekes accepted Kawalsingh’s resignation today, which follows similar action by former PSC members Courtney Mc Nish and Dr. Susan Craig-James.

The Commission is now comprised only of its Chairman, Bliss Seepersad.

The Commission has been embroiled in controversy over the past month, for its failure to appoint a substantive Police Commissioner following the expiration of Gary Griffith’s contract on August 17th. 

The PSC has also been accused of overstepping its remit, and allegedly leaking documents and showing favoritism for Griffith to return as the Police Commissioner. 

The allegations saw one hopeful candidate for the post, Superintendent Anand Ramesar, being granted leave from the court until October 15th, after he alleged the PSC unfairly omitted him from the interview process for the Top Cop post.