November 3, 2020

Disaster Teams Assess Damages From Floods

By Newsroom

Following Monday’s torrential showers which mostly affected south Trinidad, the Ministry of Rural Development and Local Government has today deployed the Disaster Management Teams of the various corporations to render the necessary assistance to citizens.

A statement from the Ministry on Tuesday said all 14 corporations had been on high alert since Sunday as weather forecasts showed possible heavy showers.

Local Government Minister Kazim Hosein commended the efforts by the DMUs saying, “Whenever there are reports of flooding, fallen trees, blown-off roofs, the Coordinators, Field Officers and team at the respective DMUs always respond quickly; and I want to thank them for their continued service to all citizens.” He further reminded, “Citizens who have been impacted by yesterday’s torrential rains, feel free to contact your respective DMUs so that assessments can be performed. After these assessments are completed, it will then be forwarded to the Ministry of Social Development and Family Services for relief support. So be sure to contact your DMUs.”

Reports received by our Disaster Management Units indicate that the following areas were impacted by yesterday’s inclement weather- Rio Claro, Biche, Mayaro, Gasparillo, Claxton Bay and Chaguanas.

Those in need of assistance are urged to contact their respective Disaster Management Unit at the contact numbers listed below:


Arima Borough Corporation 800-2ABC (2222)

Chaguanas Borough Corporation 800- DCBC (3222)

Couva/Tabaquite/Talparo Regional Corporation 800 – CTTC (2882)

Diego Martin Regional Corporation 800 – DMRC (3672)

Penal/Debe Regional Corporation 800 – PDRC (7372)

Point Fortin Regional Corporation 800 – PFBC (7322)

Princes Town Regional Corporation 800 – PTRC (7872)

Port of Spain City Corporation 800- PSCC (7722)

San Fernando City Corporation 800 – SCDU (7238)

Sangre Grande Regional Corporation 800 – SGRC (7472)

San Juan/Laventille Regional Corporation 800 – SLRC (7572)

Siparia Regional Corporation 800 – 4SRC (4772)

Mayaro/Rio Claro Regional Corporation 800 – 4MRC (4672)

Tunapuna/Piarco Regional Corporation 800 – TPRC (8772)

Tobago Emergency Management Agency     – 211