December 10, 2021

No Division For Duke as Farley Announces THA Portfolios

By Newsroom

For the first time in the history of the Tobago House of Assembly, the Deputy Chief Secretary will not have any Division under his portfolio.

 Chief Secretary Farley Augustine, at his first media briefing since being sworn in on Thursday, unveiled the assignments for each Division. 

Augustine said however, that Duke will be tasked with furthering the prospect of autonomy for Tobago, as well as establishing a Tobago embassy in Trinidad.

Augustine said his Deputy Chief will be allowed to create a succession plan before he makes his exit from the Public Service Association, to avoid conflicts of interest.

See the list of assigned portfolios below:

Secretary of Health Wellness and Social Protection – Assemblyman Faith B. Yisrael

Assistant Secretary – Sonny Craig

Secretary of Settlement, Public Utilities and Rural Development – Assemblyman Ian Pollard

Assistant Secretary – Niall George

Secretary of Food Security, Natural Resources, Environment and Sustainable Development – Nathisha Charles-Pantin

Assistant Secretary – Nigel Taitt

Secretary of Education, Research and Technology – Assemblyman Zorisha Hackett

Assistant Secretary – Orlando Kerr

Secretary of Infrastructure, Quarries and Urban Development – Assemblyman Trevor James

Assistant Secretary – Joel Sampson

Secretary of Tourism, Culture, Antiquities and Transportation – Councillor Tashia Burris

Assistant Secretary – Megan Morrison

Secretary of Community Development, Youth Development and Sport – Assemblyman Terance Baynes

Assistant Secretary – Wane Clarke

Secretary of Finance, Trade and the Economy – Chief Secretary and Assemblyman Farley Augustine

Assistant Secretary in the Office of the Chief Secretary – Councillor Certica Williams-Orr (Public Administration, Planning and Labour)