June 23, 2022

Justice Dennis Morrison Resigns From Commission Of enquiry Into Divers’ Deaths

By Newsroom

Justice Dennis Morrison has resigned as head of the Commission of Enquiry which was set up to investigate the February incident in which four LMCS divers died after being trapped in an underground pipeline.

The announcement comes just two months after he received his instrument of appointment in April.

Energy Minister Stuart Young told Thursday’s Post Cabinet media briefing that the Justice’s resignation was for “personal reasons”.

Cabinet today approved Jamaican Justice Jerome Lynch to take Mr. Morrison’s place as head of the two-man Commission. 

Justice Lynch’s swearing in will likely take place next week, Minister Young said.

Divers Fyzal Kurban, Yusuf Henry, Rishi Nagassar and Kazim Ali Jr died while conducting maintenance works on a pipeline at Paria Fuel Trading Co Ltd in Pointe-a-Pierre on February 25.