April 21, 2022

Members of Commission of Enquiry Into Paria Diving Tragedy To Be Sworn Friday

By Newsroom

Nearly two months to the day that five divers were sucked into an underground pipeline owned by Paria Fuel Trading Limited, the two  members of a Commission of Enquiry set up to investigate the incident will receive their instruments of appointment on Friday.

In a statement on Thursday afternoon, the Ministry of Energy and Energy Industries revealed that line Minister Stuart Young met with Justice Dennis Morrisson and Gregory Wilson on the same day.

The meeting also included legal counsel to the Commission, Ramesh Lawrence Maharaj SC, Ronnie Bissessar and Vijaya Maharaj.

The February 25th incident led to the deaths of four of the divers, Fyzal Kurban, Rishi Nagassar, Yusuf Henry, and Kazim Ali Jr.

A fifth man, Christopher Boodram, survived the ordeal.

The men were conducting an underwater maintenance exercise at #36 Sealine riser on Berth #6 at Paria, Pointe-a-Pierre at the time the tragedy occurred.

Justice Morrisson and Mr. Wilson will receive their instruments of appointment from President Paula-Mae Weekes on Friday.