July 7, 2020

PM Meets With Community Recovery Team

By Newsroom

Three more people have been added to the Community Recovery Team which was appointed by Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley to “evaluate and design a path forward for communities in need.”
 Dr. Rowley met with the committee, which is led by Mr Anthony Watkins – Consultant and expert in social pathology/ mental health, correctional services, and psychiatric forensic assessment.
The new members are:
Dr Keron Victor – Economist
Mr Hasely Crawford – Olympian
Mr Christopher “Jillionaire” Leacock – Music Producer
Other team members include:
Dr the Hon Nyan Gadsby-Dolly – Minister of Community Development, Culture and the Arts
Mrs Nichola Harvey-Mitchell – Director of the Children’s Authority
Mr Jamaal Shabazz – Former Trinidad and Tobago Football Manager
Mr Hans des Vignes – Television Personality and Radio Broadcaster
Mr Curtis Toussaint – Motivational Speaker and Consultant
Ms Akosua Edwards – Author, Speaker
Dr. Rowely met with the team at the Diplomatic Centre in St. Ann’s, where  he told them that they “have been selected on this committee to find working solutions to address some chronic problems which can be found in urban and semi-urban communities.”
He said the issue is not geographical but rather socio-economic and urged team members to focus on creating vehicles for people who want to be transported out of a situation that is getting the better of them.
Dr Rowley gave the group the assurance that “as far as the country is able to – through the national executive – we will provide the resources to implement the solutions that you think ought to be actionable in all these communities.”