February 18, 2022

Three Member Team Appointed To Investigate Power Outage, No Compensation Says Public Utilities Minister

By Newsroom

A three member team has been appointed to investigate Wednesday’s islandwide power outage.

Acting Prime Minister Colm Imbert says the team, which includes Retired Professor Chandrabhan Sharma, Former T&TEC Chairman Keith Sirju  and  Acting Superintendent Allister Guevarro of the TTPS Special Branch, has one month to submit its report.

Meanwhile, there’s no compensation for residents or commercial entities who were impacted by Wednesday’s islandwide power outage, because the mishap was not the fault of T&TEC.

This is according to Public Utilities Minister Marvin Gonzales, who, while responding to a question in the House of Representatives this afternoon, explained there was “a huge issue from the independent power producers which impacted T&TEC’s ability to provide electricity to the country.”

Residents are eligible for $60 in compensation  if T&TEC fails to restore power within 10 hours after an unplanned outage, while commercial owners are eligible for $600 compensation.

But as clarified by the Regulated Industries Commission on Thursday: “T&TEC is excluded from paying compensation for breaches of the Guaranteed Electricity Standards for events arising out of force majeure conditions (an extraordinary event or circumstance beyond the control of the utility), such as but not limited to, interruptions caused by natural disasters and the failure of electricity generation supplied by a third party.”